How do you keep your love alive? Try affirmation.

October 14, 2008 at 10:46 pm | Posted in Affirmation | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

What do you suppose this woman has just told this slightly amused-looking man?

• “Not here, John!”
• “No, you didn’t really tell my mother that story!”
• “We’ve been dating for 3 years now, don’t you know I love you?”

Or, perhaps, this guy has just received an affirmation from his friend, a few encouraging words about an aspect of his character – “John, I really admire how calm and steady you are, you always put me at ease.”

It’s words of affirmation like this – when spoken by someone you trust — that help you feel valued and cared for. At times when you’re discouraged and insecure, words of affirmation also can remind you of who you are and help you get back on track.

You may have been told that receiving too many compliments will give you a big head, but I disagree. Experience tells me that when I receive honest affirmation from someone who truly knows me, I feel humbled and just want to keep embodying the qualities my friend says are true about me.

Setting the intention to be affirming to others is one of the most loving gifts you can give someone. Begin by looking for those qualities that you appreciate most about your partner, spouse or best friend, then communicate how you feel. Try at least one affirmation a day to start.

Can you recall the last time you were affirmed or you affirmed someone else? How did it make you feel?

Click here to comment.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Recently, my husband really boosted my confidence when he told me, “If anyone can do it, you can!” It really helped to know he believes in me.

  2. Just read your post… you always seem to hit on something that I’m thinking about. Funny how that works.

    When I’m stressed and don’t feel like me I need to remember to “keep embodying the qualities my friend says are true about me.”

    I need to do this now 🙂

  3. Affirmation is extremely important to all of us in our relationships. In marriage, never take your mate for granit, encouragement and compliments no matter how small can change a person’s outlook and boost spirits and tear down very high big walls.

  4. You will recall the affirmation I received from a friend after a program I had planned turned out well?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

